Wollega University Chemistry Department

Wollega University Logo

Wollega University Chemistry Department

Our Address

Wollega University – Nekemte Campus (University)
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

GPS: Lat 9.074472 / Lon 36.584987

Wollega University (WU) is one of the public Universities of which the foundation stone was laid by the Ethiopian Federal Democratic Republic Ministry of Education (MoE) in 2005 E.C. The University is located at Nekemte town, 331 Km West of Addis Ababa, in East Wollega Zone of the Oromiya region. The University is located at the outskirt of Nekemte town on the road to Addis, on the 150 hectares of land surrounded by ever green forest and natural scenery of landscape, and spectacular view of mount ‘Komto’.

WU has become functional as of February 2007 G.C by enrolling 851 students in regular program to its 17 departments under 4 Faculties.  The first batch of which graduated 651 students in July 2009; in Business and Economics, Natural Sciences, Social Sciences, Language and Education. The University currently runs 82 undergraduate, 45 postgraduate and 5 Ph. D programs under 7 Colleges, 3 Schools and 1 Institutes in 2008/09 E.C. academic year.  Considering its core vision of academic excellence and quality education and its social commitments, Wollega University needs to launch more Post Graduate Programs (M.A, M.Sc, M.Tech, MBA and Ph.D programs) in selected disciplines in 2009/10 E.C academic year and beyond.

Vision, Mission, Goal and Core Values 


“Wollega University aspires to be one of the top 25 universities in Africa in 2025 EC”


To produce competent and innovative professionals in various disciplines through practical, lifelong learning; engaging in research, technology transfer and community services and promote good governance to the development endeavors.