about university of botswana

About University of Botswana

The University of Botswana, or UB was established in 1982 as the first institution of higher education in Botswana. The university has four campuses: two in the capital city Gaborone, one in Francistown, and another in Maun. The university is divided into six faculties: Business, Education, Engineering, Humanities, Science and Social Sciences.

The University campus consists of that part of the two former universities (UBLS and UBS – see Historical Note) which was situated in Botswana and was sometimes referred to as the Gaborone Campus. The University is closely involved in the national development process of Botswana. In this regard the special functions of the University are to engage in improving the quality and in expanding the quantity of the human resources needed for development, and to act as the repository of the collective knowledge and experience of the nation and the world. The fi rst of these functions is fulfi lled through the teaching programmes offered by the University and its affi liated institutions, leading to the award of degrees, diplomas and certifi cates. The second function is carried out individually and collectively by the staff of the University and its affi liated institutions, through the research and development, consultancies and information services which they undertake. Like any other complex organisation, the University has established certain patterns of authority and specialisation, systems, and rules of procedure, in order to perform its functions in an orderly and effective manner. These regulate day-today work within the University.

Faculties and Departments

Below the level of the Vice Chancellor’s office, the University is divided broadly into three types of specialised work: academic affairs, finance and administration, and student affairs. The academic division is represented by the Senate, Faculties, Schools, Departments and Institutes. Specialisation and the best use of staff expertise are achieved on the basis of the division of the academic areas into departments. Each department has a special focus, involving it in teaching and research in particular subjects or disciplines. These departments are responsible for the day-to-day teaching and research work of the University, and they formulate the programmes of study. A number of departments and similar or related disciplines are grouped together to constitute a Faculty. At present there are seven established Faculties: Business, Education, Engineering and Technology, Humanities, Science, Social Sciences, Faculty of Health Sciences and the School of Graduate Studies. In general, departments in the same Faculty work closely together in offering Degree, Diploma and Certificate Programmes. In many cases there is a similar cooperation between Faculties. Faculties are headed by Deans, who represent the Faculty on other bodies and who have general responsibility for coordinating the work of the Faculty. Faculties work through their Faculty Boards and a variety of committees established by the Boards. Proposals from departments are brought to Faculty Boards for discussion and may then be submitted to Senate and, when necessary, to Council. Decisions and directions are then transmitted back to departments through the same channels.